This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

discoverXmlMetaData not working on SQL Server 2012 SP2 CU 8

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Nov 2, 2015 at 1:18 PM
Hi

I have been using the select discoverXmlMetaData for many years now. But when we recently applied the CU8 patch for SQL Server 2012 SP2 things stopped working.

When executing the procedure CALL ASSP.discoverXmlMetaData("\Database\Cubes\Cube\") I don't get any results. (no errors just Executing the query ...Execution complete) On our other server where we have not applied CU8 we get results as before.

Anyone else having issues with 2012 SP2 CU8 and ASSP version 1.3.7

/Johan
Nov 2, 2015 at 2:00 PM
I have done some more testing. I can't even get any result for this query:
CALL ASSP.AssemblyVersion()

But things like this still works.
with member [Measures].[LastProcessed] as ASSP.GetMeasureGroupLastProcessedDate("Fact Test")
select [Measures].[LastProcessed] on 0
from [TEST CUBE]

/Johan
Nov 4, 2015 at 4:10 AM
So both of those function calls that are not working return rowsets (.Net DataTables) so there may be some bug that's been introduced there. If you run the following in an XMLA window do you see a response coming back?
<Envelope xmlns="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
    <Body>
        <Execute xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xml-analysis">
            <Command>
                <Statement>
                    Call ASSP.AssemblyVersion()
                </Statement>
            </Command>

<Properties>
                <PropertyList>
                    <Catalog>AdventureWorks</Catalog>

<!-- 
                <Format>Tabular</Format> 
                <Content>Data</Content>

-->
                </PropertyList>
            </Properties>

</Execute>
    </Body>
</Envelope>
You should be seeing something like the following:
<soap:Envelope xmlns:soap="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/">
  <soap:Body>